Packing for the Trip

aqua-pink-bon-voyage-suitcase-set-3

Getting ready to begin a novel is a lot like packing for a trip. There’s a lot of planning. An itinerary. Consideration of transport. Not to mention who’s coming along. It’s like when your finger hesitantly hovers over the enter button before you press it and commit to purchasing airline tickets. Did I get the dates right? Is this really the best deal I can get? Is this the right decision?

Committing those first words on paper (or screen) is a scary step. Either you are the craziest person on earth or you think waaaaay too much of yourself.  At least sometimes that’s how we feel. It’s that little twinge of doubt that keeps us from typing that first sentence.

But sometimes we don’t start for a whole different reason. We simply aren’t ready. That’s where I am. I mean I have the story all here in  my head – the plot, characters, story arc. It’s all there. But for it to be good (and I mean really good) I need to do my homework. Get it right.

That’s why I have decided not to start. Writing that is…

I’ve completed a novel already. It’s not the greatest. It’s not the worst. Do I think it’s good enough for publication? Maybe. But it’s no break out novel. It’s one to be tucked into my sock drawer and whipped out sometime in the future when my agent asks, “You got anything else?”

So for now I’m just packing my suitcase. I’m filling it with knowledge. Places, dates, fads, fashions, culture,  religion. I’m taking that all-important first step in doing a period/historical story justice – RESEARCH. It’s going to take some time and effort but hey, that’s what we gotta do if we we’re gonna do it right.

So every now and then I’m planning on conducting a Baggage Check. Just to let you know how my progress is going. I also plan on providing some helpful information for fellow travelers.

So follow me if you are interested and I will do the same!

Bon Voyage!

 

About dizzytangerine

A writer on the verge of becoming an author hoping to meet others in a similar situation. A mother with a pile of laundry, dishes in the sink and dust bunnies under the wood stove. This can wait. My writing can't.

Posted on January 4, 2014, in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

Marie Lamba, author

Some thoughts from author and agent Marie Lamba

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

AngieKozBlogs

My Thoughts from The Empty Nest or The Side of the Pool

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

Walking through the desert

"How broken is my spirit that my worth is the bones and crevices of a starving body".

Papermashed (Discontinued Blog of Eva Acharya)

A place for me to share my ideas, triumphs, and failing moments in pursuit of publishing.

junemelby

I grew up in Iowa. Then I fled to Hollywood. Now I'm back in Iowa, a writer, living in a log cabin in the woods. This blog is about this weird life.

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

Wicked Words

one word at a time, one day at a time

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

maggiemaeijustsaythis

through the darkness there is light

jjmarsh

writing and books, stories and words

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Samantha Anderson

Author, Blogger, Sarcasm Connoisseur

Ode to Creation

I'm here. You're here. Let's live.