Rejection’s Evolution

Image

When No Isn’t Necessarily No – Some Useful Insights

Got two manuscript rejections yesterday. One in the mail the other in my email inbox. But I’ll tell you about these later.

When I first started sending out manuscripts and began receiving rejections I took them hard. I would vow not to do it again – not to put myself out there and be vulnerable. But invariably I would get over it and begin once more. The submission, followed by the waiting and then the rejection. Usually addressed to “Dear Author/Illustrator.” They were forms – mere slips of paper shoved into a SAS that I had provided. But with those I guess I was lucky. For it was when I didn’t hear anything for months that stung the most. My writing not even worthy of a stamp.

But things are changing. My rejections now appear on publisher/agent letterhead or are addressed to me personally via email like the ones I got yesterday. And while they both were a “pass” there still is hope. After getting over the initial let down of rejection, I reread the letters and both included invaluable insights into my writing and where I might improve. Both the editor and the agent suggested that I “tighten things up” and be more “succinct.” The tension needs to be increased.

I will take this generous editorial advice and put it to good use. Those thoughtful words will fuel cuts, rewrites and revisions. And when I think I simply cannot improve my writing any more, I will do it again.

Only then will I re-submit.

My advice to all receiving rejections: if the editor or agent takes the time to write something constructive about your piece you are SO CLOSE! Follow through and do what they say.

Sometimes the “no” is a “maybe”.

About dizzytangerine

A writer on the verge of becoming an author hoping to meet others in a similar situation. A mother with a pile of laundry, dishes in the sink and dust bunnies under the wood stove. This can wait. My writing can't.

Posted on January 12, 2014, in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Marie Lamba, author

Some thoughts from author and agent Marie Lamba

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

On publishing, clients, writing, and queries

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

AngieKozBlogs

My Thoughts from The Empty Nest or The Side of the Pool

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

E.S. Wesley

Storytelling and Stuff

Walking through the desert

"How broken is my spirit that my worth is the bones and crevices of a starving body".

Papermashed

Small ideas on paper, large enough for the minds.

junemelby

I grew up in Iowa. Then I fled to Hollywood. Now I'm back in Iowa, a writer, living in a log cabin in the woods. This blog is about this weird life.

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

Wicked Words

one word at a time, one day at a time

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

maggiemaeijustsaythis

through the darkness there is light

jjmarsh

writing and books, stories and words

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

