Are You a Panster or a Plotter? Weigh in.

Image

Battles rage about this issue. When writing – especially something large or complex – are you one who flies by the seat of your pants (Panster)? Or do you carefully outline the story from beginning to end (Plotter)?

Take a moment to answer the poll. It will be interesting to see which one comes out ahead…

Myself? Well, I’d say I’m a Semi-Plotter.

It all started in grade school when my teacher, Mrs. Harding, made us outline our book-reports. You know I, II, III followed by A,B,C and then 1.2.3 yadda, yadda, yadda. Sometimes it got so convoluted that I’d forget where I was in the scheme of things. I’d draw arrows from III.C.4 to I.B.2 and then erase like crazy. By the time I was done, there would be holes in the paper and tears on my cheeks.

But over time, I realized that this kind of planning was good for me. To an extent. It helped organize my thoughts, figure out where I was headed and finally bring it all together in a neatly wrapped package. Years ago, when I wrote for a local paper, I would often jot down a rough outline to get a good feel for the flow of the story. Then I would fill in the missing pieces of information. Often, I would find myself surprised when my story simply concluded on its own as if by magic.

So I’ve taken this non-fiction type of outline and plan to apply it to my next work of fiction. But in a much more organic way.

I have the story in scenes written out randomly on my laptop. Yesterday I cut up a brown-paper bag like you would if you were going to use it as a book-cover.  Next, I raided my daughter’s art cubby and scavenged a nice assortment of colored markers. I plan to sketch out a timeline of the scenes on the brown paper and use it as an “outline.”

So for those of you content to simply let the pen fly willy-nilly, I bow in respect.

But you won’t have a pretty piece of brown paper with rainbow- colored jottings to hang up on your wall now will you?

About dizzytangerine

A writer on the verge of becoming an author hoping to meet others in a similar situation. A mother with a pile of laundry, dishes in the sink and dust bunnies under the wood stove. This can wait. My writing can't.

Posted on February 2, 2014, in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Marie Lamba, author

Some thoughts from author and agent Marie Lamba

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

On publishing, clients, writing, and queries

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

AngieKozBlogs

My Thoughts from The Empty Nest or The Side of the Pool

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

E.S. Wesley

Storytelling and Stuff

Walking through the desert

"How broken is my spirit that my worth is the bones and crevices of a starving body".

Papermashed

Small ideas on paper, large enough for the minds.

junemelby

I grew up in Iowa. Then I fled to Hollywood. Now I'm back in Iowa, a writer, living in a log cabin in the woods. This blog is about this weird life.

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

Wicked Words

one word at a time, one day at a time

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

maggiemaeijustsaythis

through the darkness there is light

jjmarsh

writing and books, stories and words

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

