Conferences Count

ostrich-217946_640

Writing by nature is a solitary endeavor. Ask any successful author and they will tell you that getting to the point of publication took countless hours of alone-time in front of a screen. Things can get pretty quiet; just you, a blank piece of paper and the ticking clock. And that’s one of the reasons some writers never become authors. It’s just too lonely out there.

That’s why we need to reach out to others like us and attending a conference is a great step. I just got back from the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators annual conference in New York City. I was surrounded by people just like me! Writers who are almost authors. Artists who are almost illustrators. And of course those who have already found success.

While I didn’t come away with a lot of new tools for my writing box, I did leave with a renewed conviction that this is what I was meant to do. What I got out of the experience was validation that I am on the right track and that if I keep plugging away, success will follow. I just need to be patient. And I know we read this type of advice all the time. But when you pay good money for the advice, somehow it matters a little more. You are invested, literally.

In the Grand Hyatt’s ballroom on Sunday, I stood three feet away from Arthur A. Levine  (publisher of the Harry Potter series)  and was tongue-tied. This year I had nothing to offer. But next year? If he’s there, I’m going to give him the best break-out middle grade chapter book pitch he’s ever heard!

Now that’s the attitude!

Write on everybody.

About dizzytangerine

A writer on the verge of becoming an author hoping to meet others in a similar situation. A mother with a pile of laundry, dishes in the sink and dust bunnies under the wood stove. This can wait. My writing can't.

Posted on February 26, 2014, in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Conferences, something I would never have a chance to attend in a country with a small industry of book publishing.

Leave a Reply

Marie Lamba, author

Some thoughts from author and agent Marie Lamba

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

On publishing, clients, writing, and queries

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

AngieKozBlogs

My Thoughts from The Empty Nest or The Side of the Pool

Writers In The Storm

A Blog On Writing

E.S. Wesley

Storytelling and Stuff

Walking through the desert

"How broken is my spirit that my worth is the bones and crevices of a starving body".

Papermashed

Small ideas on paper, large enough for the minds.

junemelby

I grew up in Iowa. Then I fled to Hollywood. Now I'm back in Iowa, a writer, living in a log cabin in the woods. This blog is about this weird life.

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

Wicked Words

one word at a time, one day at a time

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?

maggiemaeijustsaythis

through the darkness there is light

jjmarsh

writing and books, stories and words

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

